• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
Book
Russia: A Thorny Transition from Communism

Lukin A.

Delhi: Vij Books India, 2019.

Article
Russia’s Policy toward Japan and Regional Security in the Asia‐Pacific

Paramonov O., Puzanova O.

Asian Politics and Policy. 2019. Vol. 10. No. 4. P. 677-692.

Book chapter
Russia, China, and the Emerging Greater Eurasia

Lukin A.

In bk.: International Relations and Asia’s Northern Tier: Sino-Russia Relations, North Korea, and Mongolia. Singapore: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018. P. 75-92.

Working paper
The Russian “Pivot to the East” Policy: the Puzzle of Exports, FTAs and Eurasian Integration

Likhacheva A., Kalachyhin H.

International Relations. IR. Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2018

About the School

Established in 2014, the School of International Affairs became the successor to the Department of World Politics, which was founded in 2006 as part of the Faculty of World Economy and International Affairs due to the urgent need to train highly qualified international specialists for government service, academia, the media, and international business. The formation of a newly independent Russia created a large demand for the development of commercial, social, and informal political contacts with the outside world. Only a limited number of universities were training specialists for this work, however, and the ones that were focused almost exclusively on government needs.

With the societal and economic changes that had occurred in Russia, the country’s foreign policy was in need of employees from academic, social, and political organizations, as well as those from the private sector who wanted to share their academic views and practical experience with the younger generation. The HSE Department of World Politics became a place for the expression of ideas, and the Department made it possible for these ideas to be brought to students. The Department’s activities initially stood out due to key developments made by the Council on Foreign and Defense Policy and the journal Russia in Global Politics.The journal’s most prominent authors were brought in to hold workshops, and students became involved in key projects of the Council on Foreign and Defense Policy.

The unique chance arose to create an academic community that was new in spirit, form, and ideas. This community began forming around S. A. Karaganov, S.V. Kortunov, and A. I. Utkin. An array of other recognized scholars then joined this community, including G. I. Mirskiy, Y. I. Rubinsky, and V. M. Davydov, as well as sandwich-generation specialists such as A. V. Lukin, M. V. Bratersky, and T.V. Bordachev. Soon after, Department staff came to include young and talented researchers like D. V. Suslov, T. A. Romanova, E. S. Zinovyeva, and A. S. Skriba.

In 2014, amid university-wide reorganization, the Department of World Politics was transformed into the School of International Affairs, which was meant to lead to more concentrated efforts on academic work, as well as to the development of a unique development vision for the new age.

Key aspects of the School of International Affairs’ academic framework:

  • A close relationship is maintained between world politics and world economics.
  • The School promotes worldviews based on pronounced realism.
  • Research combines both Western and Eastern areas of focus.
  • The School strives for innovation in academic and instructional subject matters, and staff are expected to maintain a high level of publication activity. In addition, staff are involved in international political dialogues, including as consultants and experts.
  • A number of courses are taught in English.
  • Classes are held in an interactive format, and courses are held to the world’s best educational standards.

The School of International Affairs currently has a global politics research and teaching group that is considered a leader among academic and expert circles.

Among the School's staff are leading Russian and international researchers, PhDs and PhD candidates, and world-renowned politicians. They all publish actively in prominent Russian and foreign academic journals, and they produce countless academic monographs and academic publications.

Faculty of the School of International Affairs combine teaching, research, and practice in the field of international relations, and they serve as experts, analysts, authors, journalists, and consultants to the public and private sectors. This ensures that students of the School gain exposure to a unique array of academic and professional disciplines.

Within the School, faculty members teach at the bachelor's, master's, and post-graduate levels. In addition, a large portion of classes are specially developed by School staff in accordance with the highest standards that exist for higher education in the field of international relations.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
Книга
Россия 2017: пути развития России в условиях международной напряженности

Под редакцией: В. А. Рыжков

Барнаул: Издательская группа "Си-пресс", 2018.

Статья
Политические институты Большой Евразии: выводы для России
В печати

Королев А. С., Шумкова В. А.

Вестник международных организаций: образование, наука, новая экономика. 2018.

Глава в книге
Новый политический цикл в России: неизбежны ли реформы?

Рыжков В. А.

В кн.: Россия 2017: пути развития России в условиях международной напряженности. Барнаул: Издательская группа "Си-пресс", 2018. С. 7-11.

Препринт
Factory Asia and Asia-Pacific Economic Regionalism: The Connectivity Factor Revisited

Kanaev E. A., Korolev A. S.

International Relations / IR. WP BRP. НИУ ВШЭ, 2016. No. WP BRP 27/IR/2016 .

О департаменте

Департамент международных отношений был создан в 2014 году. Он стал правопреемником кафедры мировой политики, основанной в 2006 году на Факультете мировой экономики и мировой политики НИУ ВШЭ в связи с насущной необходимостью подготовки квалифицированных специалистов-международников для государственной службы, научной деятельности, работы в СМИ и структурах международного бизнеса. C образованием новой независимой России возник огромный спрос на развитие коммерческих, общественных и неформальных политических контактов с внешним миром, а подготовкой специалистов подобного плана занималось ограниченное число ВУЗов, причем с ориентацией почти исключительно на потребности государственных ведомств.

С переменами в общественной и экономической жизни в стране важное место во внешнеполитической дискуссии заняли сотрудники научных, общественно-политических организаций, а также частного сектора, которые хотели делиться своими научными взглядами и практическим опытом с молодежью. Кафедра мировой политики НИУ ВШЭ стала местом для выражения их идей и донесения этих идей до молодого поколения студентов. Деятельность кафедры первоначально определялась разработками Совета по внешней и оборонной политике и журнала «Россия в глобальной политике». Основные авторы журнала привлекались для проведения мастер - классов, а студенты вовлекались в основные проекты СВОП.

Возник уникальный шанс для создания нового по духу, по форме и по идеям учебно-академического сообщества, которое начало формироваться вокруг С.А. Караганова, С.В. Кортунова, А.И. Уткина. К нему присоединились ученые с признанным авторитетом (Г.И. Мирский, Ю.И. Рубинский, В.М. Давыдов), и специалисты среднего поколения (А.В. Лукин, М.В. Братерский, Т.В. Бордачев). Вскоре среди сотрудников кафедры появились и молодые талантливые исследователи (Д.В. Суслов, Т.А. Романова, Е.С. Зиновьева, А.С. Скриба).

В 2014 году кафедра мировой политики в связи с реорганизацией университета и факультета была преобразована в Департамент международных отношений, что должно привести к концентрации больших усилий на научной работе, выработке собственной концепции развития международных отношений в изменившуюся эпоху.

Особенности научной школы Департамента международных отношений:

  • тесная связь мировой политики с мировой экономикой,
  • ярко выраженный реализм как основа мировоззрения;
  • сочетание западного и восточного направления научных исследований
  • инновационность научной и преподавательской тематики – высокая публикационная активность профессорско-преподавательского состава и его вовлеченность в международно-политическую практику, в том числе в качестве консультантов и экспертов;
  • преподавание части курсов на английском языке;
  • проведение занятий в интерактивном формате, ориентация на лучшие мировые образовательные стандарты.

В настоящее время в рамках Департамента международных отношений сформировалась авторитетная и признанная научным и экспертным сообществами школа исследования и преподавания дисциплин международно-политического профиля.

Среди сотрудников Департамента ведущие российские и зарубежные исследователи-международники, доктора и кандидаты наук, широко известные политические деятели. Все они активно публикуются в ведущих российских и зарубежных научных журналах, а также выпускают многочисленные научные монографии и учебные издания.

Профессорско-преподавательский состав Департамента совмещает преподавательскую, научную и прикладную деятельность в области международных отношений, выступая в роли экспертов, аналитиков, публицистов, журналистов-международников, консультантов государственных структур и крупного бизнеса, что позволяет обеспечить получение студентами Департамента уникальных научно-исследовательских и профессионально-дисциплинарных компетенций.

Преподавание в рамках Департамента ведется на бакалаврском, магистерском и аспирантском уровнях. Большая часть читаемых дисциплин базируется на авторских программах сотрудников, разработанных в соответствии с самыми высокими стандартами высшего профессионального образования в области международных отношений.